Question about buying a new car.

by MrFreeze 5 Replies latest jw friends

• MrFreeze
    MrFreeze

Okay, so I've been without a working car since November and it will cost thousands to get it up to snuff. Fortunately, I am able to walk to work. Getting a new car isn't really a necessity but more of a luxury. I've never bought a new car so I'm a rookie when it comes to this stuff.

Despite that, I've been pondering it. I know that most dealerships want you to put a good-sized downpayment on a new car.

The question I have is this: If I were to get a loan through a bank and not have it financed through the dealership, would the dealership scratch the downpayment requirement? Also, would that go towards taxes/title/other fees?

Pretty much I'm trying to figure out if I should save some money first. If I go to save money for it, I won't be able to start saving for a few months until I get my medical bills paid off. Then it might take me several months after that to get a nice downpayment together. I would rather go through my bank instead of the dealership since I would probably get a much better interest rate.

• JeffT
    JeffT

Talk to both and see what they have to say. There's a good chance you'll get a better payment plan from the dealership. They need move cars off the lot and will offer terms that a bank can't match. A lot depends on your credit rating etc. They off all sorts of cash back deals and the like to get you take a car off their hands, these can count as down payment. If you finance through your own bank they don't care about down payment, they get paid in full by your bank.

• MrFreeze
    MrFreeze

Thanks! Yeah, I'm not going to go blindly into it. I'm going to talk to several dealerships as well as my bank (or maybe a local credit union) and figure out my options. Another thing I wonder is if a bank were to provide the loan then is it common for them to have early payment fees? That's something I'd have to ask them though to figure out for sure.