YouTube and Fair Use exceptions

by King Solomon 9 Replies latest jw friends

• King Solomon
    King Solomon

This is posted as information hopefully helpful for those who've posted Sparlock videos, or other IP (intellectual property) which is owned by WTBTS, and have received a DMCA takedown notice from YouTube (YT).

I host many vids on YT, and have much first-hand experience with the dreaded DMCA takedown process, largely thanks to a video that was posted by me years ago that gets alot of traffic (currently 700k hits) and is subject to recurring take-downs notices from NBC Universal (it is an SNL skit that I use as a launching point for a discussion of the principles of sexual harrassment law. NBC Universal has a HUGE skyscraper in L.A./N.Y., teeming with IP lawyers: this is what they do to earn their keep). I've talked to IP lawyers, just to make sure I understood the process (which is easy to handle yourself).

Disclaimer: I am NOT a lawyer: spend your own $$$ on legal advice, if you are in doubt.

The first thing to realize is that the takedown process largely is automated by YT, wherein content owners (networks, movie studios, corporations, etc) submit a DVD or video footage of their protected work(s), which is automatically screened against existing and uploaded YT user videos looking for a finger-print "match" of the footage. If YT's Content Cop Bots find a match, the take-down process begins automatically, yanking the video in hopes the likely infringer freaks out, and doesn't attempt re-uploading (at the risk of losing their YouTube account, if they do. Your YT user account takes a 'hit' if you get a takedown notice filed against it, and DON'T fight it AND win).

Problem is, the bots cannot determine if the video actually IS Fair Use or not; that's a determination which ONLY can be made by a Fed Court. So YT's policy (which is in accord with Fed DMCA Safe Harbor provisions) is to take-down all possibly infringing content, and let the parties work it out.