Does anyone know who Ray Franz wrote this letter to? The date?

by Wonderment 7 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Wonderment
    Wonderment

The letter (copy below) was submitted by Pixies on 8/13/2006 on page 2 of link below:

http://www.jehovahs-witness.net/watchtower/bible/118479/2/A-Fair-View-of-Fred-Franz-Translation-Abilities

Here is some further observations by Ray Franz in response to a question regarding his uncle FW Franz-s translating abilities:

"... Fred Franz studied Greek for two years at the University of Cincinnati, with high marks, and continued his studies personally thereafter. One need only read the critical notes accompanying the New World Translation to see the extent of his knowledge of Biblical Greek and its grammar. He was self-taught in Hebrew. However, knowing him personally I am satisfied that he was capable of developing a thorough knowledge of the language. He was unusually mentally disciplined. He taught himself Spanish, a language I spoke in Spanish-speaking countries for nearly 20 years. While in Brooklyn, I associated with a Spanish-speaking congregation that he attended. I heard his use of the language both there and, previously, in Spanish speaking countries. Whether in conversational expressions or in public talks that he gave in Spanish I did not once hear him make a single grammatical error. He similarly learned Portuguese and gave talks in that language. He knew German from his childhood (his father having been born in Germany).