The Arab Spring and Geography Lessons with Yearbook 2011

by kepler 3 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• kepler
    kepler

As an outsider doing research of a sort, my readings of yearbooks has not been extensive. But I studied 1928 and 1934 very carefully - and then picked up the yearbook for 2011 on line. The first two told me a lot of things about the organization's early days, the thinking of its leader, how books, pamphlets and Bibles were produced and distributed - and a lot about a very simple dualistic faith in the near term, terrifying end.

Then I encountered the 2011 Yearbook which seemed like a collection of anecdotes about mission work in remote parts of the world. As the negative guy I have become, I didn't know what to make of it, at first. But then again...

A lot of the work to spread the word is done very selectively. But where to start to discuss this?

One thing about the "missions" discussion throughout. The focus is international. But to the outsider there is an unexpected surprise. To illustrate, for 1934 the distribution (1933) in Great Britain was as follows.

ACTIVITY IN BRITAIN - Yearbook 1934

The number of service units is 368, of which an average of 342 have regularly engaged in the service work month by month and reported to this office. There are 5,403 company workers who hold the Society’s permit, and of these, 3,897, on an average, have engaged in the work monthly, representing 72.1 percent; this is an increase of 12.1 percent as compared with last year. The hours reported reach a total of 486,608, a decrease of 37,108; nevertheless, a total of 1,206,617 pieces of literature was placed, consisting of 117,632 bound books and1,085,449 booklets, and including 3,536 Bibles. In placing this literature the brethren gave 4,793,892 testimonies, and 966,163 members of the public took literature from us, which represents an average of 1 book or booklet placed after giving 4.9 testimonies…