Readjusting Your View of "Wordly" People

by What Now? 8 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• What Now?
    What Now?

As I’m sure it is with most of us that were raised in the religion, our contact with “wordly” people was kept to a minimum.

My parents moved away from their non Witness family, to a city about half an hour away. While they would formerly get together frequently for holidays and birthdays, once my parents became Witnesses we would see my grandparents maybe once a month, and my extended family only at weddings and funerals.

When I was in school, I was never allowed to hang out with my friends after school hours. I wasn’t allowed to give my phone number to anyone, and doing any type of group project that required work outside of school was difficult. I can recall only one occasion where I was allowed to go to a friends house after school to work on a project, and it took a lot of persuasion.

So I graduated high school without any “real” friends that were not Witnesses and have since lost contact with those that I did get along with.

Even once I got a job, the concept of “worldly” people being bad association was so ingrained in my mind that I never made any friends at work either. Sure we got along and were friendly enough while at work, but that never continued once the work day was over.

You all know how it is in the religion. People who don’t love Jehovah should only be acquaintances, not friends. Sure, a person maybe be good and moral, but will they encourage you to serve Jehovah better? I was essentially raised to believe that all non Witnesses are immoral and untrustworthy. They all smoke and drink and use obscene language and sleep around and cheat on their spouses and get divorced and abuse their children and would steal from you and cheat you if they had the chance (Mind you, I know some Witnesses who are like that - and worse! But that's another thread ...)