Hillary 2 (He's actually in this one)

by Duncan 4 Replies latest jw friends

• Duncan
    Duncan

So, I had left school and was embarking upon my Theocratic Career as a pioneer…

There was already an established Pioneer Group in the congregation – it consisted of 4 or 5 older unmarried sisters in their late twenties/thirties, and a similar number of just-left-school young brothers. The two groups had practically nothing to do with each other.

Well, now I had a new gang, and I was immediately submerged in the new group culture. Like I said, I had, somewhat naively, imagined that I was about to be elevated into another, higher spiritual plane upon joining this elect group, but I guess it won’t surprise you, JWD readers, to learn that this did not come to pass.

With a shock, with an impact like hitting a brick wall, I encountered the pioneer culture. I started learning the way of the group. And it was, in a word : cynical. Time-wasting, and hours-cheating. The monthly reports were not far short of total fiction – although there were a host of rules about how you could count time, so some pharasaical rationalisation could be made to ease consciences.

Our daily routine involved walking around, calling at not-homes, delivering magazines to our carefully-cultivated portfolio of magazine-route-calls, taking care to never get into any deep or meaningful discussions with them, just in case that that might possibly put them off and kill the golden goose of easy literature placements. There was a requirement in those days that, to keep your regular pioneer status, you must be reporting at least one regular Bible Study each week. The requirement was usually met by the expedient of conducting a Bible study with the young son of Sister “Husband-not-in-the-Truth” who would be looking for a good role model for her lad, just a couple of years younger than you were.