Questions for those who are christians, not JW

by umadevi 6 Replies latest jw friends

• umadevi
    umadevi

Hello, I don't post often but I have made it a daily habit to come here. Currently I am not into any religion after exiting the WTBTS. I have no knowledge about Christianity other than what was taught by WTBTS. So I am kind of lost spiritually.

I noticed some of the XJWs here have joined other Christian church. I would like know what had made you join other Christian Group and why do u think it's different from JW. All kinds of feedbacks are welcomed.

• garyneal
    garyneal

Never been a witness, married to a witness and have been to the Kingdom Halls.

Prefer church, people are more laid back, more REAL, I guess that is the word. I use to go to an Independent Fundamental Baptist church and found them as suffocating as the Kingdom Halls. Most churches don't go around judging other churches and comparing themselves to other churches.

• Retrovirus
    Retrovirus

Hi Umadevi! How are you managing, you and your boy?

Back to topic - I'm a member of a small, inclusive Unitarian-like religion. Roughly, we believe that actions are more important than creeds, and the only "core beliefs" are to love God and love others as yourself. I'm not very regular in attending meetings but do enjoy those that I attend. We discuss and compare personal beliefs without judging and it's great to get a different perspective - without having to subscribe to it!

To me a spiritual life means connecting rather than following a set of rules. For me it's important to connect, as I'm an introvert by nature. So, I take a lady shopping (she has severe health probs and I'm a palliative care volunteer), and help out with the local Adult education Center. I'm also a member of the local Amnesty International group, and donate to two African chariities, one through work.

Why did I join my religion? I'm a born-in and it fits my needs. The differences from the wt are pretty clear, I think!