Out of the cult? You ARE Lucky!

by mentallyfree31 8 Replies latest jw friends

• mentallyfree31
    mentallyfree31

Just wanted to share an experience I had yesterday, that made me realize just how lucky I am to be out of this cult.

Brief background: When I graduated high school in 1995, i started doing janitorial worker (shocker!!) while pioneering. I worked for a 72 year old special pioneer, who had been a special pioneer for decades. I worked for him three years, until 1998.

As you know, I left the cult in December 2009. Yesterday, I was passing the Kingdom Hall on the highway, and saw this "brother" that I used to work for in 1995. He is almost 90 years old now, and has been special pioneering for 40 to 50 years. He could barely walk, but had his bookbag in hand, waking up the steps to the Kingdom Hall to go in service.

It really hit me hard. I am lucky to be out of this. I wanted to stop the car and get out and kiss the ground. I felt like the luckiest man alive. It doesn't matter what I lost to leave this organization. I am free. And I can't think of anything better than being free.

For those who remember my family's story, you will remember that it was a routine mistake on a blood test (of my brother leavingwt's second unborn child) that is responsible for us leaving the cult. If that test hadn't come back with a false positive, my whole family would still be in this, going strong, at every meeting.

Not a day passes, that I don't smile and remember just how lucky I am to be out!

-MF31-

• sizemik
    sizemik

We are all lucky . . . and may we never forget it!

• Pams girl
    Pams girl

THE BUTTERFLY OF FREEDOM

WHY DO YOU FLY OUTSIDE THE BOX?

I FLY OUTSDIE THE BOX BECAUSE I CAN............

BUT WE KNOW THE BOX.....WE ARE SAFE INSIDE THE BOX.......!

THAT MY FRIEND IS WHY I LEAVE IT..........FOR YOU MAY BE SAFE.......BUT I AM FREE......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• wobble
    wobble