JW child forgotten and left behind at assembly when family goes home

by HappyGuy 7 Replies latest jw friends

• HappyGuy
    HappyGuy

I was a precocious child. I started studying in April of 1973, I was 15, and was determined to be baptized at the International Assembly in Atlanta in July of 1973. My parents were opposed so I hitchhiked from Beaufort SC to Atlanta, a trip of about 6 hours.

As I was leaving on the last day to go hitchhike back to Beaufort, I saw a 10 year old boy crying. I asked him what was wrong and he said "my family forgot me and left without me". I was like WTF? His parents had come in one car and an aunt in another car and the parents thought he was with the aunt and the aunt thought he was with the parents. Something like that. Anyway, I asked the little boy where he was from, Charletston SC, and did he know the phone numbers of any family. He didn't. So, I called information and asked for the name of one of his aunts and luckily got her number on the first try. So, I called the aunt and told her the story. I told the aunt not to worry that I would get her nephew home safe and sound.

As we were leaving to go hitchhike some people were handing out fliers for six flags, so I said "hey, want to go to six flags?". And we went.