Random thoughts : Evolution of god

by MisfitMeL 7 Replies latest jw friends

• MisfitMeL
    MisfitMeL

Hmmmm not sure if it could be termed as evolution of god... maybe evolution of our consciousness? spiritual maturity?

Some thoughts that occured to me as I was reading a number of threads around the forum... Maybe this idea has made an appearance before....

Disclaimer : I am no expert in the history of human belief so I won't be surprised if I am wrong on my facts/chronology.

Ok so as humans evolved (this is from my perspective as an atheist so if you don't agree, too bad ), we started experiencing a consciousness and awareness that was different from other animals i.e. the ability to question, investigate and attribute unexplained phenomena to supernatural forces.

At first, cave man feared the actual elements themselves... fire was worshipped, lightning, the sun, fearsome wild beasts etc. All of these things were awe inspiring and possessed far more power than a mere human.

Then at some point, someone came up with the idea that these things were actually controlled by powerful beings or gods and that to escape such forces, you had to appease the god behind it. So you got the god of lightning, god of sea etc etc.

Now this logically (or not!) led to a whole plethora of gods and goddesses springing up for every possible situation, even abstract ones like god of prosperity, god of goodwill and so on. I suppose tribes felt that whichever belief system that had the most number of dieties was more powerful than the others coz you've got all these big guns on your side right...

But wait, there's an even better improvement... instead of having different dieties for your crops, health and laundry... you could have one all powerful god that could do all this and more! *snap* and then this god trumps them all!! Woo hoo....