How Long Before JWs Alienate all Professional Career Counsellors?

by lifelong humanist 4 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• lifelong humanist
    lifelong humanist

Please stop for a moment and think about it - I understand that most 'modern' JWs pride themselves that they don't waste any time studying, in favour of doing any mundane job that's available to non-qualified people - they'd probably go so far as to say that this is even a wise decision. For those with some ability, I'd say, wrong, wrong, wrong!

While I totally disagree with this stance in the present context, I have to concede that in a world of full employment, there's nothing intrinsically wrong with that, unless you have greater skills and abilities to offer. However, most people faced with the current economic situation would favour a more coherent response.

I'm an ex-JW (DAd over 6 years ago) & distictly recall that when I studied to do a MBA (Marketing) degree in 1994/5 I was totally castigated as a 'sad elder' person, disobeying 'orders' from the WT organisation. While I was irritated and annoyed by this viewpoint, I was carefull not to express too strongly my contempt for this narrow-minded thinking. That was over 15 years ago, and I was wish that I felt able to express my real feelings at the time of being totally pissed off with their mentally deficient reasoning . So, I was a bit more circumspect. However, I'm glad that I disobeyed, took the course and qualified with my degree. It wasn't easy. While I knew that Further Education wasn't viewed as going along with the 'right' view at that time, that wasn't a big thing to me. Given the time scale in the mid 90s, I thought that this would be deemed as OK? Apparently, not so.