university-educated congregations?

by ID Crisis 6 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• ID Crisis
    ID Crisis

Does anyone know of (eg central city) congregations that have many people with uni degrees and/or professional careers/occupations? If yes, can you comment on how the anti-university talks are delivered in these congregations?

• JeffT
    JeffT

My first congregation was in Pullman, WA; home of Washington State University (I became a dub the year I graduated and stayed there for a number of years). Pullman is a bascially a small rural town with 20,000 or so University students tossed in. The economy of the whole town revolves around WSU. I worked there taking care of lab animals, one of the elders worked in the finance department, another was head of on-campus housing, a couple of other guys had jobs there as well. None were academics.

It is interesting that at the time I was there, the general buzz around the congregation was about how bad the students were: they drank, smoked dope, and had sex with each other as often as possible. Well OK, its mostly true, but its also true that most of them were learning as well. I don't think the anti-education message was toned down much. The elder who worked in finance was a decent guy, he did the talk at our wedding and tried to really help people. He was forced to step down when his kid went to college.

Eventually we moved, and as our kids got older the anti-education message was the thing that first got me seriously questioning.

• stillajwexelder
    stillajwexelder

One congregation I was in had 5 people that were university educated

• wha happened?
    wha happened?