WT Study vs Public editions(the new bait & switch?)

by kzjw 9 Replies latest jw friends

• kzjw
    kzjw

I grabbed one of the public editions of the WT from the wife's car yesterday. O noticed there was no mention of the FDS, god's org or any of the hardline stances found in the Study editions. No verses frorm Matt 24, Proverbs 4 or any of the other standard verses found inthe Kool-aid versions, but a host of others concerning the Holy Spirit...

So how is the WTBS still so successful at the age old bait & switch?

• almostbitten
    almostbitten

kzjw,

I'm a non-Witness who was studying at one time, but soon decided "no thanks," but not before the lady I studied with started giving me the "insiders" edition of the WT (she was THAT sure I would become a witness). I was like WTF? I had NO idea that the WTS was handing out two versions of the WT. Why do they do that?

I can't really answer your question as to what's going on. I will say that this should raise some eyebrows for some people. I notice the "insider" edition is a lot more hardcore, and what little I did read just turned me further away from that organization.

• Amha·’aret
    Amha·’aret

The 2 seperate editions is a relatively recent thing. I think they like to refer to it as "the milk" and "the meat" of their words (as opposed to God's word). Family still pass along both copies to me. Its certainly interesting to see the difference between them.

• drew sagan
    drew sagan

Yes, it is basically what you say.

I tend to see the Watchtower Society as deniers of their own self proclaimed revelations. The end goal of their ministry is to convince people that the leadership of the organization has been chosen by God at a specific time and place in modern history. Only problem is that such a message can sound pretty crazy so it is best if they do not present it to a person until they agree with many other things the religion teaches first.