Why is it that witnesses believe that Jesus was resurected in spirit?

by freethinker2009 7 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• freethinker2009
    freethinker2009

I am new to this, i have never posted one of these sites before and have been in this org for about 21 years (brought up in it) i am almost 25 and have just started to really question the watchtower and its teachings and have uncovered some interesting things. There is one thing that puzzles me though, why do JWs need to believe so badly that Jesus was raised in spirit and not in the flesh. Does it really matter? I have looked at the passages of scripture where Mary saw him and the diciples saw him after he was resurrected and its evident why they did not recognize Jesus it was because he made them unable to recognize him and as for Mary she was not even looking at him, when he said to her "Mary!" she turned around. I digress though can anyone tell me why it so important? to me it does not matter either way!

• Awakened07
    Awakened07

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

I haven't been active for a few years, so I'm a little 'rusty' (others will fill in), but as far as I can recall, there's 1. Cor 15:50, which says: "Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God" (KJV). So I think that's a reason for them.

That said, I also think they believe Jesus had a kind of flesh / spirit body; "two for the price of one". This of course, because he was evidently also in the flesh, otherwise there'd be no point in Thomas being granted to put his finger into Jesus' wound. Not that that makes any sense anyway, 'cause if it wasn't the original body, then the wound wasn't any kind of evidence at all...

But I think that's how they view it. I may be slightly wrong.

• snowbird
    snowbird

Hi and welcome.

I was a JW for 30+ years and I accepted this teaching as fact until I began researching for myself.