McDojo's Witnesses

by ColdRedRain 2 Replies latest jw friends

• ColdRedRain
    ColdRedRain

I've noticed that JWs tend to shy away from debates. When brought on the table for a debate, they don't debate, but rather preach to others instead. I liken this to how a lot of fake martial arts schools teach their students.

I am an avid martial artist. I train at a moderately OK martial arts school. It's hosted in a megagym, which means the quality is watered down somewhat and the allmighty dollar is king (My last colored belt test was $115!!!!!!!) but it's still a great school system.

As a martial artist, I'm always seeking new ways, theories and philosophies how to fight and make my art very well rounded and effective. I've visited some GREAT schools, and I've gone to some really bad schools all in a quest to round out my art. The really bad schools are called "McDojos".

McDojos and the JW religion have lots in common. One is how they put emphasis on gaining members and signing up new members vs a quality martial education. McDojo students usually know very little about their art. They can't tell you the theories behind their forms, and they often mispronounce their art's foreign language terms even calling their art the wrong name (I.E., a Taekwondo student calling his or her art "karate" or an Aikidoka calling him or herself a "Jujitsuka").

Another is a promise of quick promotion. Also, another sign of a McDojo is how the McDojo disallows students from studying other styles and integrating other styles into their own personal fighting style. Still another is aggressive marketing techniques. And still another is quick promotion to high ranks that in most other schools, would take decades to achieve.