Sometimes the "worst thing" turns out to be the "best thing"

by Dawn 5 Replies latest jw friends

• Dawn
    Dawn

Hi all - it's been a while since I've gotten a chance to sign on and visit you all. Nice to be back. I wanted to share a story with you - maybe it will help some that are just getting out and going through a rough time.

A good friend of mine came to me today - he and his wife are expecting their first child and just found out it has Down's Syndrome. They have decided to keep the baby. So as we were talking I told him my story about the worst thing being the best thing.

When I was 19 years old I found out I was pregnant. I just knew it was the end of my world. I was the "good JW" growing up but got into some trouble around 17-18 years old and thus ended up pregnant. I had just moved 2000 miles away from my home to Houston TX, was working a barely above minimum wage job with no medical benefits, didn't qualify for State aid because I was a new resident, and was living with my brother (an elder) who I knew would kick me out when he found out. Not to mention - I would get DF'd and loose all my friends and family - you know the drill.

I knew I could abort and noone would know. But I decided not to. (No judgment on anyone who has made a different choice - this was just the choice I made and my story -that's all).

As it turns out - I DID get kicked out and things were pretty tough for a long time. But...I made it. My son is now 22 years old and I look back and realize that what I thought was the worse thing was really the best thing that ever happened to me. If that had not happened I would still be in the JW hold, still miserable, and still going nowhere.