Looking for advice from anyone out there with grad or advanced degrees

by NYCkid 5 Replies latest jw friends

• NYCkid
    NYCkid

Hey, I'm finishing up my last year in undergrad school and am considering pursuing grad school. I am hoping to chat with individuals privately, who are attending grad school or have a graduate/advanced degrees for advice about the practicalities and expenses relating to attending grad school later in life (mid-30s +).

I'm not pursing medicine, law or business, so I'm concerned that the effort and expense of grad school may not be worth it.

Thanks,

NYCkid

• FreeGirl2006
    FreeGirl2006

I just finished my undergrad and I am going into a Masters of Accounting. I am 35+. PM me with your questions and I will try to help you out.

Freegirl

• Dragonlady76
    Dragonlady76

**dragonlady's hubby here****

I have an MBA and learned that a degree most of the times does not mean much. EXPERIENCE counts for alot. Higher degrees in many majors only really qualify you to teach (liberal arts, education, etc...) I would look at the career path you want to pursue, talk to people in that career and see how they got there. Usually experience counts for alot. Sometimes a technical certification or something might help as well. Other instances, a higher degree really doesn't do much- for example, a teacher with a Phd who teaches in a public high school might make a little more than a teacher with a lesser degree, but still makes alot less than other professions.

One option- go into the workforce, get some experience, then maybe go back to grad school. most of the times it will enhance your career and your employer might pay for it.

again, it all depends on the field. by the way, what field are you considering?

• NewYork44M
    NewYork44M

I have an advanced degree in management and accounting.