Suicide the bible's view

by jeanne40love 8 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• jeanne40love
    jeanne40love

How does the bible view suicide?

A few acquaintances of mine in the "truth" committed suicide and when the memorial talks were given, they were handled very differently. At one hall the brother (MS) who took his life....his life was celebrated....There was comfort for everyone. at the other hall, the sister really very little comfort was given the family and friends.

Sorry this is not posted in the right location...I'm new at this.

• monophonic
    monophonic

probably better stated would be the watchtower society's view, since mixing it with the bible might be confusing.

one script i remember is "wages sin pays is death", so at death, you've paid for your sin, at least that's how it was explained to me when i was "in", that script was never brought up in the case of the suicides that i was emotionally involved with...in the 90's they were very harsh in a couple of different congregations i attended, then slowly started to lighten up.

the old view was, 'they lost jehovah's holy spirit' (said directly to me, a publisher, on two different situations, so who knows what was going on behind the scenes), so it was more investigative tactics as to the why and lots of speculation.

newer suicides i've seen treated w/ more kindness (if you wanna call it that, i could tell some brothers were just itching to get the witch-hunt out), but since i've left the society has beefed up its legal tactics (check out "ELDERS DOCS" in the private discussion forum for pdf scans of that), so they mostly are covering their asses in these cases.

of course, no one would ever admit or apologize to anyone for their old ways of thinking and how much harm was brought on entire families who were not only grieving and coming to grips with the tragedy, but were being investigated as to why 'jehovah's holy spirit had left the family', yes, exact words.