How to deal with Mom "serving where the need is great"?

by snickers 9 Replies latest jw friends

• snickers
    snickers

Hello all -

First of all, I've been reading this forum for many months and have found it such a nice place! A little history - my husband and I were both raised as JWs, and both left about 11 years ago. We were initially inactive for quite a few years, but we still believed all the BS. Only in the past 3 years have we finally woken up and realized that we were never going back and with good reason!

My family "served where the need was great" in South America the year I graduated from high school. I wasn't invited and got married instead (what else do young JW girls do?). They were there for almost 2 years in the early 1990s. My parent's had the WORST marriage and finally divorced almost 3 years ago. My Mom sold the house and moved back to South America last month. We have a love-hate relationship. For the past few years it's been okay, with the exception that she is always going on about JW crap to my kids. But right before she left she was very cold to me. She knew that I thought it was a cop-out that she was going in the first place. My sister just had another baby, my Mom hated her job and can't afford her lifestyle here - so she wanted to "retire". She's only 52 - how many 52 year old single women do you know that can retire early? On top of that, neither of my parents invested in any retirement plan until the last 10 years - so there's not a lot to live on - UNLESS you move to freakin' South America. What a crock!