Some thoughts on Copyright issues.

by JeffT 4 Replies latest jw friends

• JeffT
    JeffT

I thought of this when reading the thread about e-bay, and decided to give it its own thread.

I'm not a lawyer but as a businessman I've dealt with a lot of legal issues. It is a fundamental point of tort law that you have to prove you're damaged in some way. Example: you hit my car, I have to repair it, that costs me money; that's a tort. If you hit the curb in front of my house and do no damage, that's an accident, but not a tort; no one has been materially hurt.

So the Watchtower wants to claim that it has been hurt by people posting it's material on line, or selling it on e-bay or whatever. Yet they get tax exempt status, including sales taxes etc because they do not sell their literature, they donate it. How have they been damaged? Are they going to claim they're damaged by their own words? This can not be slander because they're the ones that said whatever is being quoted.

This may not be a defense against copyright infringment, but it could certainly be used to stir up trouble over their tax exempt status.

• Scully
    Scully

So the Watchtower wants to claim that it has been hurt by people posting it's material on line, or selling it on e-bay or whatever. Yet they get tax exempt status, including sales taxes etc because they do not sell their literature, they donate it. How have they been damaged? Are they going to claim they're damaged by their own words? This can not be slander because they're the ones that said whatever is being quoted.

The damage, apparently - as we saw in the lawsuit against the Quotes site - is in the fact that the Watchtower's own words are an "embarrassment" to the Watchtower.

Boo-frikkin-hoo. They should be embarrassed printing that crap and attempting to pass it off as Truthâ„¢.

• Oroborus21
    Oroborus21

Jeff,

copyright law is not based in torts (that is personal injuries) but has its basis in statutory law.