Attn. slimboyfat

by Narkissos 2 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Narkissos
    Narkissos

Semi-private conversation continued from another thread (http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/10/125861/1.ashx), not to hijack it:

have you been in contact with him since leaving?

Unfortunately no.

Could you tell me a bit more about your intellectual journey? I guess when you started Bible studies proper it was from the point of view of a Christian believer parting company with JW theology. Is it fair to say you have grown progressively more liberal in your views of traditional Christian truth claims?

Roughly, yes. As far as I can analyse, I left JWs (over 20 years ago) for religious rather than intellectual reasons, I was a Christian in the mystical, not fundamentalistic, sense. I joined a moderate Evangelical church. I studied theology and it quickly appeared that I was not an Evangelical either, at least from the theological standpoint. I enjoyed more liberal theology for a while and gradually drifted to the limits (in? out?) of the theological field. If there were an a-theology I would be there, but it has been reinvented every second year for many decades and doesn't seem to be that successful so far.

Do you consider yourself Christian at all any more?

Out of respect for the commonly accepted definition of the word, and because I have got a bit tired of misunderstanding, no. Otoh "post-Christian" is the best label I can think of. Meaning, I still enjoy the music.

Yet it always shocks me how you seem to be able to take a hardline stance against the Witnesses like the best of them on here. Have you bought into France's stern secularism, is that why you would go along with those who would label Witnesses a "cult" and so on? And how does that square with your postmodernist leanings? Is it a case of "believe whatever you like - as long as it's not the Witnesses"? I don't get it. Just trying to understand...