Twenty four elders?

by Anony-Mouse 9 Replies latest jw friends

• Anony-Mouse
    Anony-Mouse

I dunno if this is just me or what but....

I have never heard of this!

Nearing 17 years...and just recently the words "Twenty-four elders" has popped up 3 or 4 times.

Are the 24 elders the gods...I mean rulers...murders....ummm....the boss folk of JWness?

Never heard this phrase...

• bebu
    bebu

I'm new to this phrase too. I mean, it's in Revelation, so I'm familiar with it there. I'm just unfamiliar with the doctrine the WTS is spinning from it--sounds like an avenue for new light coming here? It'd help if someone could explain what this is all about...

bebu

• geevee
    geevee

You both need to get out your revelation climax books, there was a bit in that on the 24, how and who......

• mzliz
    mzliz

I tossed all of my books a while ago to be able to look this one up. I was wondering about this as well since someone mentioned it in one of the threads, anyone going to help us???

• stevenyc
    stevenyc

The 24 Elders were explained as the 144,000 in their complete sense once all had died and in heaven. There has recently been a few threads showing that they have changed their position on this.

steve

• blondie
    blondie

Actually, according to the WTS the "24 elders" is just another way of saying the 144,000.

144,000 divided by 24 = 6,000.

*** it-2 p. 551 Older Man ***