Kingdom hall or Church funeral?

by outcast 0 Replies latest jw friends

• outcast
    outcast

This is very tragic, but it does bring up the question.-----------------------------------------------------------------------

September 14, 2001 -- I AM staring into the mouth of the devil, searching for one small, little man.
    His name is Paul Ortiz, and he is 21 years old. I try not to think of him in the past tense.

Paul is a computer technician by trade. But at heart, he is a father, a son and a husband.

This man is loved. And needed. We must do everything humanly possible to bring him home.

I am standing just feet from the World Trade Center, what's left of it, with Paul's sister-in-law, Ericka Sanchez. We are cloaked in masks and surgical scrubs, which do nothing to shield us from the horrible, choking, burning odor. No clothing can cushion the sight before us: two skyscrapers, felled like tissue paper. Twisted and pancaked and brought to their knees, smoking. Men stand atop the wreckage, passing down buckets full of rubble, one by one, in a process that is numbingly slow.

It is beyond me how this beautiful, young man could still be alive.

Yet we must not give up. For when hope is extinguished, Paul will be dead for sure.

"If you don't want to see this, I'll understand," Ericka tells me kindly, as she hunts for a makeshift morgue where his body may be.

Ericka has faced the devil head-on since this evil was unleashed Tuesday morning. The morning of the attacks, she was supposed to be inside the Trade Center at a meeting. Instead, she switched her schedule at the last minute to attend a meeting at a building next-door.

Since Tuesday, she has worked around the clock. A trained rescue worker, she pitched in to help survivors. She also has searched hospitals, triage centers, the wreckage itself, for any sign of Paul. At night, she goes home to comfort Paul's wife, her sister.

If she can take it, then I must, too.