January 1919 IBSA Convention Now Online

by cabasilas 8 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• cabasilas
    cabasilas

If Watchtower history is not your cup of tea just ignore this thread.

Recently our family got a new scanner. In my files I had a photocopy I'd made of the January 1919 IBSA Convention booklet years ago. So, I decided to scan it in and make a pdf. I'm still new at this but thought I'd share it with history buffs here. The booklet contains all the talks of the Convention and minutes of the Annual Meeting and also some extra talks by Woodworth and Fisher before they went to jail.

This is from a critical time in IBSA/JW history. Rutherford and 6 others were in prison in Atlanta. The convention was held in Pittsburgh, PA. The Brooklyn office was closed. The convention also included the annual meeting where Rutherford was reelected. The first part of the booklet describes the visit many made to Russell's gravesite and the plans for erecting the pyramid memorial. (I once had a Bethelite acquaintance tell me that it was the "evil slave" Bible Students who put the pyramid up and not the WT Society...this would have corrected him.) There are several anecdotes regarding 1914 and the Finished Mystery book. The last couple of pages contain some interesting parallels some Bible Students saw between the imprisonment of the brethren and Jesus' crucifixion.

All in all, there's a wealth of historical information in here and this document is not generally available as far as I know. Theologically speaking, this was a special time in JW history. According to them this was just after Christ had come to the Temple and was deciding to appoint the WT Society for the final harvest work. So this booklet gives an idea of what these Bible Students were up to at this critical time.

The link I'm providing is for a reduced size of this document (about 17MB) that should work for Adobe Reader 5 or later. It's at: