Can you help me write an article..?

by merfi 4 Replies latest watchtower medical

• merfi
    merfi

I gave blood yesterday. For the first time EVER. It's "newsworthy" in more ways than just one. I'm tellin ya, it was the most amazing thing in the world to do. The feelings I had were somewhat two- or three-fold (stop singing that stupid kingdumb melody in your head, I just did LOL). I felt free -- free to do what I wanted, free to do the right thing by donating. I felt somewhat defiant -- "take THAT up your ass, WTBTS" but mostly I just felt good -- somewhere, someone's life might be saved by what I did yesterday. I work in a hospital and have seen blood put to use to bring color to someone's granny's cheeks... to bring a new mom back to consciousness after nearly bleeding out from childbirth, so that she can hold her baby... to give a young man with cancer a higher count so that he can receive chemo and fight...

My town is a population of about 12K and the KH has around 35 publishers (about 50 on the Spanish side). I'd love to have my experience published by the local newspaper. Something along the lines of promoting donating blood to save lives, but also getting in there something about the WTS views on transfusions having been tweeked thru the years, and how it is barely hanging by a thread -- a thread certainly not strong enough to risk my or my children's lives on. Maybe in some ways it's another defiant thing... but it's also turning into a 'cause' of mine, it seems.

I'll probably start writing something up during the day, but if anyone has some info and things to include, throw it my way, bring it on.

~merfi, of the A Positive donor class

• jstalin
    jstalin

You should call up your local paper and see if they have a religion reporter. That sounds like a good human interest story.

• Atlantis
    Atlantis