how does everyone else cope with being shunned by family?

by nb-dfed 36 Replies latest jw experiences

• nb-dfed
    nb-dfed

I am a newbie to the site. I was born an raised a jw. Shortly after marriage, my husband and I decided we no longer wanted to be part of the organization. We pulled away and kept to ourselves, without trying to mislead anyone or be bad influences. The elders eventually tracked us down and told us we would be disfellowshipped if we didn't meet with them. I chose to meet with them simply so that I would not be disfellowshipped and still allowed to talk to my family. I was disfellowshipped by a judicial commitee. They made the decision in less then five minutes. That was nearly two years ago. I have found happiness and peace with myself, my spirituality and god. The thing I still have trouble with is that I cannot share the simple joys of life with my brother, sister and parents. They weren't there when I bought my first new car and my first house. They won't be there when their grandchildren are born. I know they still cling to the hope that one day I will come to my senses and return to the organization. I just want to know how some of you out there cope with this sadness. Thanks!

• XQsThaiPoes
    XQsThaiPoes

they cant DF you for being inactive. Also you should never meet with them for that implies guilt accoring to the PA book. Also They can only DA you at most. DAing implies no wrong doing. THe shunning is vague and unoffical so technically you could get around it if you family and friends really loved you. ALso every year they have to contact you and ask do you want to be reinstated. so the quickest way around it since it has been 2 years is become reinstated. And never meet with them afterward.

• nb-dfed
    nb-dfed