Evolution is a Fact #32 - Sexual Selection

by cofty 7 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• cofty
    cofty

When I was a telecom engineer there was a particular transistor that we would routinely change on any circuit board we were working on. It suffered from a condition known as thermal runaway. A drop in resistance across the collector-base junction caused a rise in current that generated heat which reduces resistance in semiconductors which increases the current even more, creating more heat and so on until the transistor self-destructed.

(For geeks - this is why field-effect transistors became the choice for amps)

Thermal runaway is an example of a positive feedback loop - in this case an unhelpful one. A more constructive example of positive feedback is responsible for some of the most interesting features in the natural world.

In the history of life, survival is only a means to an end. It is reproduction that transmits successful genes to future generations. A body that is well equipped to live to a great age but never attracts a mate is unsuccessful from the perspective of evolution. It was this observation that led Darwin to propose the theory of sexual selection.

In 1982 Malte Andersson carried out a neat experiment on a group of 36 male widowbirds in Kenya. The widowbird is about the size of a sparrow but in breeding plumage the male has a spectacular tail 18 inches long. Andersson divided the birds randomly into group of four. In each group he cut the tail feathers of one bird so that it was left with 5 1/2 inches. He then glued the extra feathers to one of the other birds in each group so that they ended up with extra long tails. The third bird was left untouched and as a control, the fourth bird had his feather cut and glued back on again in order to eliminate the possible effects of human interference.