Dreaming

by Sabin 25 Replies latest jw experiences

• Sabin
    Sabin

O.K. friends I have question to ask. I suffered with horrific nightmares for along time. I`m talking years. They usually were about animals hurting me. Crocs, bears but mostly Great White sharks. One I remember, I was standing on a rock in the sea & the water was to my waist & a great white swam towards me huge fin & opened it`s enormous mouth & bit into me. It was so real that I woke up terrified. Got myself a book, A-Z dream dictionary, started writing them down in the mornings, because I could remember every detail. Anyway I studied about why we dream & learnt that they are all part of a healing process, I`m talking psychologically here. That we shouldn't try to hinder them but let them take their cause . Which I did , I wrote it all down & then researched the subject matter, & began to understand what my sub-conscience was telling me. All things play a part, colours, numbers, people, places etc. You get the picture. Interestingly the longer I`ve stayed away from JWs the nightmares are almost none-existent, so not afraid to go to sleep. Question is this: Has anybody else had this experience or is it just me that's NUTS. SABIN.

• talesin
    talesin

If you're studying psychology, then you'll recognize the Jungian way of analyzing dreams ... this was the 'path' of one of my psychologists. In this way of looking at dreams (which is mostly agreed, are a way of processing life events), the people or perhaps, other things or animals, are projections of yourself, and/or parts of yourself and your own experiences that take other shapes in your dream processes. By looking at the actions of these 'projections' (for lack of a better word), it's possible to be able to relate to parts of yourself that may be shut down in day-to-day life, for various reasons. That's just one viewpoint, of course, but I hope it's helpful.